Sanford Health Sylvan Court
Nursing home · 112 ST. OLAF AVENUE SOUTH, Canby, MN 56220 · Yellow Medicine County
Prices
The Minnesota Department of Health publishes no prices or facility websites, so we show none. Ask the facility directly.
Facility
- Type
- Nursing home · Skilled Nursing Facility/Nursing Facilit · Nonprofit Corporation
- Capacity
- 48
- State license
- 425770
- Medicare CCN
- 245433
- Licensed entity
- SANFORD HEALTH NETWORK
- Chain
- SANFORD HEALTH
- Ownership
- Non profit - Corporation
- Phone
- (507) 223-7277
- Nurse staffing
- 4.06 hours per resident per day; 41.8% nursing staff turnover
- Medicare ratings
- Inspections 5★ · Staffing 4★ · Quality 3★
- Official record
- Minnesota Department of Health provider directory
- Official record
- Medicare Care Compare
Inspection findings
-
Mar 25, 2026 Health · 4 findings
-
Not serious
Scope/severity D
F0755 Pharmacy Service Deficiencies
Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
Corrected Apr 10, 2026 · CMS health inspection
-
Not serious
Scope/severity E
K0321 Smoke Deficiencies
Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
Corrected Apr 10, 2026 · CMS fire safety
-
Not serious
Scope/severity E
K0324 Smoke Deficiencies
Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
Corrected Apr 10, 2026 · CMS fire safety
-
Not serious
Scope/severity F
K0353 Smoke Deficiencies
Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
Corrected Apr 10, 2026 · CMS fire safety
-
Not serious
Scope/severity D
-
Feb 13, 2025 Health · 5 findings
-
Not serious
Scope/severity D
F0641 Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies
Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
Corrected Mar 14, 2025 · CMS health inspection
-
Not serious
Scope/severity F
F0812 Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies
Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
Corrected Mar 14, 2025 · CMS health inspection
-
Not serious
Scope/severity D
K0222 Egress Deficiencies
Add doors in an exit area that do not require the use of a key from the exit side unless in case of special locking arrangements.
Corrected Mar 13, 2025 · CMS fire safety
-
Not serious
Scope/severity D
K0353 Smoke Deficiencies
Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
Corrected Mar 13, 2025 · CMS fire safety
-
Not serious
Scope/severity D
K0372 Smoke Deficiencies
Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
Corrected Mar 13, 2025 · CMS fire safety
-
Not serious
Scope/severity D
-
May 1, 2024 Health · 1 finding
-
Not serious
Scope/severity D
F0758 Pharmacy Service Deficiencies
Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
Corrected Jun 12, 2024 · CMS health inspection
-
Not serious
Scope/severity D
-
Mar 5, 2024 MDH complaint investigation · 2 findings
-
Severity not stated
H54339613C Substantiated complaint (MDH Office of Health Facility Complaints)
MDH substantiated this complaint. The finding and its severity are in MDH's investigation report (linked).
-
Severity not stated
H54339614C Substantiated complaint (MDH Office of Health Facility Complaints)
MDH substantiated this complaint. The finding and its severity are in MDH's investigation report (linked).
-
Severity not stated
-
Feb 14, 2024 Health · 2 findings
-
Not serious
Scope/severity D
Complaint
F0609 Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies
Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
Corrected Mar 18, 2024 · CMS health inspection
-
Not serious
Scope/severity D
Complaint
F0610 Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies
Respond appropriately to all alleged violations.
Corrected Mar 18, 2024 · CMS health inspection
-
Not serious
Scope/severity D
Complaint
-
Apr 2, 2021 MDH complaint investigation · 2 findings
-
Severity not stated
H5433007C Substantiated complaint (MDH Office of Health Facility Complaints)
MDH substantiated this complaint. The finding and its severity are in MDH's investigation report (linked).
-
Severity not stated
H5433009C Substantiated complaint (MDH Office of Health Facility Complaints)
MDH substantiated this complaint. The finding and its severity are in MDH's investigation report (linked).
-
Severity not stated
Owners and managers (as published by CMS)
- CAIN, JAMES — corporate director, NOT APPLICABLE, since 11/19/2015
- DULSKI, KARIN — w-2 managing employee, NOT APPLICABLE, since 11/19/2012
- ENGBRECHT, WESLEY — corporate director, NOT APPLICABLE, since 01/01/2021
- GASSEN, WILLIAM — w-2 managing employee, NOT APPLICABLE, since 11/24/2020
- GASSEN, WILLIAM — corporate officer, NOT APPLICABLE, since 11/24/2020
- GASSEN, WILLIAM — corporate director, NOT APPLICABLE, since 11/24/2020
- GULSVIG, NEIL — corporate director, NOT APPLICABLE, since 03/28/2019
- JACOBS, DONALD — corporate director, NOT APPLICABLE, since 11/19/2015
- LUNDEEN, MARK — corporate director, NOT APPLICABLE, since 11/19/2015
- MARLETTE, WILLIAM — corporate officer, NOT APPLICABLE, since 06/16/2023
- MARLETTE, WILLIAM — w-2 managing employee, NOT APPLICABLE, since 06/16/2023
- MOLBERT, LAURIS — corporate director, NOT APPLICABLE, since 01/01/2021
- MORRISON, TONY — w-2 managing employee, NOT APPLICABLE, since 02/01/1991
- MORRISON, TONY — corporate director, NOT APPLICABLE, since 02/01/1991
- MUNSON, JOLYN — w-2 managing employee, NOT APPLICABLE, since 02/25/2013
- NORTH, ANDREW — corporate director, NOT APPLICABLE, since 01/01/2017
- SWENSON, STEPHANIE — w-2 managing employee, NOT APPLICABLE, since 11/01/2019
- TEIKEN, BRENT — corporate director, NOT APPLICABLE, since 11/19/2015
- VENTLING-HERRMANN, MARNIE — corporate director, NOT APPLICABLE, since 01/01/2022
- SANFORD — 5% or greater indirect ownership interest, 100%, since 07/20/2010
- SANFORD HEALTH — 5% or greater direct ownership interest, 100%, since 04/18/2007
Sources: the MDH Health Care Provider Directory, MDH's evaluation and complaint findings, and CMS's list of certified Minnesota nursing homes and CMS Care Compare (nursing homes). “Harm or jeopardy level” is CMS scope/severity G–L. About this data.